Structure of DNA

DNA has three main components

- 1. Deoxyribose (a pentose sugar)
- > 2. Base (there are four different ones)
- 3. Phosphate

Structure of DNA

It is made of two polynucleotide chains which is constitutes by Sugar –phophate and bases The two chains Have anti-parallel polarity it means if one chain has the polarity 5'- 3', the another has 3'-5'



Structure of DNA



DNA Double Helix & Hydrogen bonding
➤The bases in two strands are paired through hydrogen bond (H-bonds) forming base pairs.
➤Adenine forms two hydrogen bonds with Thymine from opposite strand and vice-versa.
➤Guanine is bonded with Cytosine with three H-bonds.

RNA (Ribonucleic Acid) Nucleotides Purine

- > Adenine
- ≻ Guanine

Pyrimidines

- Cytocine
- > Uracil

Sugar is Ribose

Single stranded- a single strand of nucleotides Nitrogen bases: : AUCG Transcription= process of making RNA from DNA

Translation= RNA directions are used to make a protein from amino acids

• DNA \rightarrow RNA \rightarrow Protein

Transcription Translation nucleus Cytoplasm on ribosome Codon and Anticodon Codon-found on mRNA Anticodon-found on tRNA

TRANSLATION- Assembling proteins- in the cytoplasm

➢rRNA- a part of the structure of ribosomes

- mRNA leaves nucleus and enters cytoplasm
- IRNA molecules with the complementary anticodon and a specific amino acid arrives at the ribosome where the mRNA is waiting.
- IRNA molecule leaves and a new one comes with another amino acid.

Amino acids continue to attach together until the stop codon and a protein is formed